Search Sponsored by:
Friday, July 01, 2016
Canajoharie, NY ,

Brown Investiture: An investiture service for Brownie Troop 36, a first year group, and Troop 114, members in their second year, was held last Wednesday evening, Feb. 7, 1973 in the Girl Scout rooms at the Canajoharie West Hill School. Mothers attended as guests. First and Second year pins were presented by the leaders. A social hour and refreshments were enjoyed. Pictured, left to right, front row, are Elena Mead, Sherry Young, Bobbi Fairbanks, Betty Lou Smith, Mary Dusold, Joanne Hennessy, Becky Mount, Abby Coppernoll, Glenda Price and Jennifer Jones; second row, Laurie McGrath, Paula Moynihan, Cheryl Flint, Diane Douglass, Claudia Mead, Bonnie Dillenbeck, Gloria Mead, Joanne Blaetz, Michelle Warner and Julie Slaper; rear row, Leaders Pat Minney, Gail Moynihan and Jeane Slaper.

Contest Winners: The Can-Plain-Ville Jaycees conducted its annual foul shooting contest Saturday morning, Feb. 10, 1973 at the Fort Plain Elementary School. Winners in each age group received new basketballs as prizes. Front row, left to right, are Mark Luft, who converted 19 of 30 tosses to win the 12-year-old division; Donald Stockwell, 17 of 30 in the 11-year-old bracket; Richard Hudyncia, 15 of 30 for the 10-year-olds, and Vince Shiminski, 17 of 30 for boys eight and nine years of age. In the rear are Jaycees Vic Sgambato, Ed Sitterly, Larry Nellis, Walt Haig and Ed Jankowski, who conducted the tourney.

New Scouts Pinned: Bobcat badges were awarded to new members of the Cub Scout Pack 71, St. Johnsville, Thursday night, Jan. 26, 1973 at David H. Robbins Elementary School. Left to right, first row, are Michael Corso, Peter Hayes, Dale Battisti, Robert Smida, John Ressue and Jeffrey Smith; second row, Kevin Carter, Robert Linney, Mark Hickey, Robert Manikas, Todd Marino, Darrin Hoffman, Danny Estes, James Briele and Donald Humphrey. Absent from the photo were Svend Christiansen, Kevin Mowrey and Richard Shaut.

Beech-Nut Life Savers Safety Observers Instrumental in Saving Lives: Pictured, Jan, 1963, are the safety observers, who served the last half of 1962 in the Canajoharie plant of Beech-Nut Life Savers, Inc.

Front row, from left, Julius Yacobucci, Stuart Cotton, Webb Keck, Fayette Nichols; second row, Harold Wheeler, Kenneth Bracebridge, Earl Dievendorf, George Hodder, Alice Kent, Garrett Gage, Wellington Prall, LeRoy Brandow; third row, Leo Kardash, Howard Lasher, Robert Schaffer, Clarence Wood, Stephen Tamsett, Miquel Acovangelo, Virgil Heiser, William Hoffman, William J. Wright.

New safety observers have been appointed for the first half of 1963.


Winter Memories - 01/09/2014

Thursday, January 09, 2014 - Updated: 10:36 AM


Comments made about this article - 0 Total

Comment on this article


Most Popular

  • Viewed
  • Commented
  • Emailed
  1. Construction begins at NY Bake Factory, LLC(544)
  2. Planning board approves Dominion referral(485)
  3. Obituaries - 06/03/2016(447)
  4. FEMA funds removal of flood-destroyed homes(404)
  5. Fort Plain and St. Johnsville hold Memorial Day parades(395)
  6. Groups petition FERC over Dominion project(343)
  7. Living History Rest Area opens at Lock 13(313)
  8. Letter To Editor/Morawski - 06/03/2016(302)
  9. Fort Plain captures state title(290)
  10. Newly restored cannon unveiled and dedicated in John Buck's honor(284)

Copyright © McClary Media, Inc.

Privacy Policies: Courier Standard Enterprise

Contact Us