Search Sponsored by:
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Canajoharie, NY ,

Joshua Thomas
Canajoharie resident Lacey Arduini votes Tuesday at the Canajoharie High School.


Voters support Canajoharie, Fort Plain, OESJ school district budgets

Wednesday, May 21, 2014 - Updated: 9:50 AM

Canajoharie Central School District residents voted in support of the district’s 2014-15 school budget Tuesday by a vote of 559 to 388. The approved $20.4 million plan calls for a spending increase of 3.25 percent over the current budget and carries a tax levy increase of 1.6 percent.

“I’d like to thank our community for their continued support of our students’ learning,” said Superintendent Deborah Grimshaw. “Together, we can help our students be ready for their world. This budget will help us create a wireless infrastructure, and create more learning opportunities that align with student interests.”

Fort Plain Central School District residents voted in support of the district’s 2014-15 school budget by a vote of 235 to 52. The approved $18.8 million plan calls for a year-to-year spending decrease of 2.59 percent and decreases taxes by 3 percent.

“I’d like to thank all of our residents who came to the polls and voted,” said Superintendent Douglas C. Burton.

“This year’s budget is the end result of years of right-sizing and looking at all the opportunities for savings in the district while maintaining educational opportunities for students of our community.”

Residents in the Oppenheim-Ephratah-St. Johnsville Central School District approved the proposed 2014-15 budget by a vote of 572-187. The approved $18,510,847 budget carries a 1 percent tax levy decrease and includes funding for the continued expansion of opportunities for students.

-- Board of Education results

Canajoharie -- Cheryl Vroman was elected to a five-year term on the Canajoharie Board of Education with 481 total votes. Jesse Quackenbush received 363 votes.

Fort Plain -- Voters elected three board members, all running unopposed. Incumbent Jeffrey Jones received 231 votes, Incumbent Todd McFee received 242, and David Przestrzelski received 212.  

OESJ -- Voters elected Mary Weaver, Stephanie Dye and Jason Romeyn to the board of education. Weaver was elected with 452 votes, Dye received 431 and Romeyn received 386. Five other candidates were also on the ballot including incumbents Cindy Breh and William Lints, who received 285 and 281 votes respectively; Ty Stowell, 267 votes and Michael Yezierski, who received 131 votes.

As the top two vote getters, Weaver and Dye will both receive full terms of three years. Romeyn will receive a two-year term and will fill the vacancy created by the 2013 passing of Benedict Conte.

-- Propositions

Canajoharie -- Voters rejected a proposal to provide the Canajoharie Library with $100,000 in annual tax based funding. 356 voted "yes", while 595 voted against the proposition.

Fort Plain -- Residents approved a school bus proposition by a vote of 219 to 67. The proposition allows the district to purchase two buses (one full-size and one half-size) at a total cost not to exceed $200,000. The money comes from Fort Plain's bus/transportation reserve fund approved by voters in 2013 and there is no effect on local taxes.

Voters approved a request from the Fort Plain Free Library Board of Trustees to increase its tax levy from $50,000 to $75,000. State education law allows public libraries to place a funding proposition on a school district ballot.

Voters rejected a proposal, 171-108, to allow the district to increase Board of Education terms from three to five years.


Comments made about this article - 0 Total

Comment on this article


Copyright © McClary Media, Inc.

Privacy Policies: Courier Standard Enterprise

Contact Us